Muntinlupa rips North Cebu, faces Tanauan next

MANILA, Philippines — Muntinlupa routed North Cebu, 11-0, to keep its unblemished mark in the centerpiece Little League Baseball division of the 2018 Philippine Series National Finals in Cabuyao, Laguna Tuesday.

The Muntinlupa batters clinched their third straight victory to catch idle defending champion Tanauan (also with 3-0) at the helm a day before their scheduled showdown in the final game of elims and later the title duel itself.

The other game in the majors saw Maitum clobbering Dumaguete, 15-0, to improve to an even 2-2 while sending its victims reeling to 0-3.

Tanauan and Muntinlupa’s baseball bets also held sway in the juniors division as they picked up their fourth straight triumphs.

Holder Tanauan nipped Iloilo, 9-2, while Muntinlupa beat North Cebu, 14-9, to warm up for their coming clash.

South Cotabato, meanwhile, took the solo lead in Senior League Baseball with 4-0 after outclassing Tanauan in a duel of unbeaten teams, 12-8.

Northern Samar and Muntinlupa both went 2-2 following victories over Iloilo (12-5) and Kidapawan (18-0), respectively, in the other seniors division matches.