20-member Asiad volleyball pool known

20-member Asiad volleyball pool known

From left: Alyssa Valdez, Mika Reyes, Jaja Santiago and Kim FajaroComposite Image/File Photos

MANILA, Philippines – The Larong Volleyball sa Pilipinas, Inc. (LVPI) formally announced the composition of the national pool where the members of the squad headed for the 18th Asian Games will be drawn.

Skipper Aby Marano was on top of the list as well as former national team members Jaja Santiago, Alyssa Valdez, Kim Fajardo, Mika Reyes, Frances Molina, Dawn Macandili, Rhea Dimaculangan, Kianna Dy, Maika Ortiz and Denden Lazaro.

Dindin Manabat, who was cut from the squad last year after giving birth, was back in the pool together with former youth standouts Myla Pablo and Jia Morado while Majoy Baron, Cha Cruz-Behag, Mylene Paat, CJ Rosario, Rebecca Rivera and MJ Philips will be making their international debut.

LVPI vice president Peter Cayco said the pool will be divided into 12 national team members, two reserves and six pool members.

The Final 12 will be announced Thursday.

“We have to be very careful in choosing the Final 12,” said Cayco, who was tasked to spearhead the national team program.

“As much as possible, we want players who can play multiple positions so that they can easily step up if somebody gets injured.