Guiao possible contender as Gilas coach in FIBA World Cup

Guiao possible contender as Gilas coach in FIBA World Cup

Yeng Guiao

MANILA, Philippines – Coach Yeng Guiao may stay on holding the rein in the national team up to the next windows of the FIBA World Cup qualifiers, especially if Team Philippines performs creditably in the Asian Games in Jakarta, Indonesia.

The PBA board of governors deferred making a decision on the composition of Gilas Pilipinas to the September window of the FIBAWC eliminator pending the stint of the Guiao-mentored Team Philippines in the Jakarta Asiad.

The board, however, reiterated its full support to the Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas and to Gilas Pilipinas in a meeting yesterday at the PBA office in Libis, Quezon City.

“The PBA is open to lending our players to Gilas. But the board didn’t discuss a possible lineup with the SBP yet to decide on who will be the coach,” said PBA commissioner Willie Marcial.

Guiao could well be a top contender if he would be able to steer Team Philippines to a good showing in the Jakarta meet.

Philippine Olympic Committee president Ricky Vargas, who is also chairman of the PBA board, has said they would be happy if Team Philippines could surpass the country’s seventh-place finish in the 2014 Asiad in Incheon, South Korea.

The Nationals, however, need to make the Top Two in their grouping with China and Kazakhstan to advance to the knockout stage (Final Eight).

Marcial and the PBA governors leave for Jakarta today to cheer for the Nationals in their game against Kazakhstan Thursday.

The PBA delegation will stay in the Indon capital until Saturday as they will also cheer for the entire Philippines delegation during the Asian Games opening ceremonies at the Gelora Bung Karno Main Stadium.

But the PBA and the SBP have to decide soon on the Gilas coach and the Gilas roster as the next FIBA windows are set September 13 and 17.

Replacements are needed for suspended coach Chot Reyes and players Andray Blatche, RR Pogoy, Troy Rosario, Jayson Castro, Terrence Romeo, Calvin Abueva, Carl Bryan Cruz, Japeth Aguilar, Matthew Wright and Jio Jalalon.